The "Keurblokken"

For many people it is a complete surprise to discover that behind the monumental canal houses there is yet another precious phenomenon: the ‘keurtuinen’, these gardens are after all the hidden green lungs of the city centre of Amsterdam.

The ‘keurtuinen’ are located in the 27 ‘keur’-blocks, most of them between the Keizersgracht and the Herengracht and between the Keizersgracht and the Kerkstraat. The ‘keurtuinen’ have enjoyed special legal protection since 1615. This law ensured that no business activities were allowed in the gardens.

This has been maintained over the centuries and has now been included in the various zoning plans, which means that the protection of the ‘keurtuinen’ remains legally anchored.



Overview Keurblokken

This overview shows by which canals / streets the blocks are bounded and under which zoning plan they fall. For more information about the zoning plans, see: Regulations

Blokis bounded byZoning plan
IBrouwersgracht, Herengracht, Herenstraat en KeizersgrachtWestelijke Binnenstad
IIHerengracht, Herenstraat , Keizersgracht en LeliegrachtWestelijke Binnenstad
IIIHerengracht, Keizersgracht, Leliegracht en RaadhuisstraatWestelijke Binnenstad
IVHartenstraat, Herengracht, Keizersgracht en RaadhuisstraatWestelijke Binnenstad
VHartenstraat, Herengracht, Keizersgracht en WolvenstraatWestelijke Binnenstad
VIHerengracht, Huidenstraat, Keizersgracht en WolvenstraatWestelijke Binnenstad
VIIHerengracht, Huidenstraat, Keizersgracht en LeidsegrachtWestelijke Binnenstad
VIIIHerengracht, Keizersgracht, Leidsegracht en LeidsestraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
IXKeizersgracht, Kerkstraat, Leidsegracht en LeidsestraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XKeizersgracht, Kerkstraat, Leidsestraat en Nieuwe SpiegelstraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XIHerengracht, Keizersgracht, Leidsestraat en Nieuwe SpiegelstraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XIIHerengracht, Koningsplein, Reguliersdwarsstraat en VijzelstraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XIIIHerengracht, Keizersgracht, Nieuwe Spiegelstraat en VijzelstraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XIVKeizersgracht, Kerkstraat, Nieuwe Spiegelstraat en VijzelstraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XVKeizersgracht, Kerkstraat, Reguliersgracht en VijzelstraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XVIHerengracht, Keizersgracht, Reguliersgracht en VijzelstraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XVIIHerengracht, Reguliersdwarsstraat, Thorbeckeplein en VijzelstraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XVIIIHerengracht, Rembrandtplein, Thorbeckeplein en UtrechtsestraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XIXHerengracht, Keizersgracht, Reguliersgracht en UtrechtsestraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XXKeizersgracht, Kerkstraat, Reguliersgracht en UtrechtsestraatZuidelijke Binnenstad
XXIKeizersgracht, Kerkstraat, Utrechtsestraat en AmstelZuidelijke Binnenstad
XXIIHerengracht, Keizersgracht, Utrechtsestraat en AmstelZuidelijke Binnenstad
XXIIIHerengracht, Utrechtsestraat, Amstelstraat en AmstelZuidelijke Binnenstad
XXIVAmstel, Waterlooplein, Nieuwe Amstelstraat, Jonas Daniël Meijerplein en Nieuwe HerengrachtOostelijke Binnenstad
XXVAmstel, Nieuwe Keizersgracht, Weesperstraat en Nieuwe KerkstraatOostelijke Binnenstad
XXVINieuwe Keizersgracht, Weesperstraat en HortusplantsoenOostelijke Binnenstad
XXVIINieuwe Herengracht, Anne Frankstraat, Rapenburgerstraat en MuiderstraatOostelijke Binnenstad